Tortilla Soup

I used to love tortilla soup before I went vegan, and the other day I realized that I could make a vegan version at home! I don’t know why it took me so long but I’m glad I figured it out. This recipe turned out fantastic and my (non-vegan) fiance loved it as much as I did! We ended up eating it in less than two days.

Ingredients:

1/2 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 Serrano pepper, minced
4 cups reduced sodium veggie broth
1 can (14 1/2 oz) stewed tomatoes
1 can corn
1/4 teaspoon pepper
¼ teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cumin
¼ teaspoon chili pepper
¼ teaspoon paprika
1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
1 avocado
tortillas chips(optional)
soy cheese (optional)

Sauté onion, garlic, and pepper on medium heat with olive oil. Add broth, tomatoes, and corn. Add pepper, salt, cumin, chili pepper, and paprika. Bring to boil, then reduce to low and simmer for 8 minutes. Stir in cilantro.
Serve with sliced avocado, tortilla chips and soy cheese.

Leave a Reply

