Okra & Tomatoes

I’ve always enjoyed fresh okra and tomatoes, and when my parents gave me some fresh okra I knew I had to make it! I have never made it on my own before and just jumped into it because I’ve had it so many times. It turned out delicious and I even had more for a late night snack!

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 lb. fresh okra, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
1 fresh Serrano pepper, minced
1 can stewed tomatoes
1 clove garlic, minced
1/3 onion, chopped
1 cup water
salt and pepper to taste

Heat olive oil in a medium pot. Add onion, garlic and pepper and cook until the onion is soft. Add okra and stir, then add the can of tomatoes (liquid and all) and 1 cup water. Add salt and pepper to taste and cook until okra is done. Feel free to add more water if it cooks down.

Tip: When buying okra, look for small okra – when okra get too long the end gets stringy and hard to eat.

Leave a Reply

