Natto Roll of Death

Over spring break, the man and I went to Honolulu, which was fantastic. Luckily for him, his birthday was that week also so I took him out to a fancy sushi place for dinner.

While looking through the menu, I saw the natto roll. In case you aren’t familiar, natto is fermented soybeans and is popular in Japan. So, feeling brave, I ordered it along with a couple other rolls. Our waiter tried to warn me about the natto roll, but I persisted that I knew what I was getting into.

There it is, sitting innocently on the plate.
natto roll

Here’s the sequence of facial expressions as I tried the natto.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Photobucket

As you can see by my facial expressions, natto is not pleasant to say the least. After I ate that piece I started playing with it a little because I heard it gets slimy…

Photobucket

After that it started stinking more so I asked the waiter to take it away. Overall I thought it was an interesting experience and I’m glad I’ve at least tried natto now, but boy was it gross!

Leave a Reply

