Canned Mock Abalone

A few days ago, I mentioned that I made a stirfry for my bento using some canned mock abalone that I found at an Asian market. Well now it’s time for the review. Here’s what the can looked like. Innocent enough…
mock abalone
After I opened the can up though I was rather disturbed. The abalone really did look like abalone which kind of worried me. Still I knew they had to be eaten, so I drained the liquid out and threw a few into the stirfry.

Once all the vegetables were done I tasted a piece… it was surprisingly good. It had a meaty texture and it was lightly soy sauce flavored. Although the texture and appearance was kind of scary for me because it was so realistic, I still enjoyed the stirfry and ate it all. You can see how it turned out on the left side of this bento.

stirfry

I give it a 7 out of 10. It tasted good and I enjoyed it, but it’s not going to be something that I start craving.

Leave a Reply

