Bento #6

Last night I made bentos for my boyfriend and me. The other day I found a cool tutorial on how to make onigiri with cookie cutters, and since I don’t have any rice molds, I decided to try it out. I have a star shaped cookie cutter that I had never used before and figured it would work well. It did! Here’s a picture of all the onigiri I made last night. The one w/ some pink on it has a jelly filling, and the rest just have sesame seeds and nori on them. I think the little faces turned out cute. I wanted to make more but my boyfriend didn’t want his coworkers looking at him weird. My boyfriend forgets to shave sometimes, so I even made a little “afternoon shadow” on one of them! (Its the top left one)

onigiri

Here’s a picture of the bento I made for my boyfriend. I had an avocado leftover from when I made sushi the other day and thought it would go well with the onigiri. I also added a fortune cookie, some rice candy, and some nori maki and a soy packet. He just got done eating it and said it was pretty yummy. He normally has asian noodle cups, so this was a nice change.

bento6a

Mine is a little larger because I didn’t get to have breakfast today. It has onigiri, avocado, peanuts, nori maki, rice candy, and a soy sauce packed in the left layer. On the right there’s more onigiri, a mushroom w/ the stem placed into the cap (to be eaten w/ the onigiri), the jelly onigiri, grapes, and a fortune cookie.

bento6

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Biggie on May 21, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Those look really cute! Glad the tutorial on cookie cutters worked out for you.

    Reply

  2. Yep. Me again asking the odd questions. How do you keep the avocado from turning brown? When I cut avocado and have some leftover, I put a damp towel over it and plastic wrap it to keep out the air. But if it’s in a box, air will get all over it, right? (New to Bento. Have a box coming and can’t wait!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

